Service, sacrifice and Determination

I was maybe 10 or so years old when my great uncle came to visit my grandma. She had fixed this huge spread of food….including chicken feet. I was absolutely grossed out. And in the dramatic way that only kids have, I announced, loudly, that “THERE IS NO WAY I AM EATING THAT! I WOULD RATHER DIE OF STARVATION”.
My uncle reached over and got my hand and said the saddest thing I had ever heard. ” little girl you have no idea what you will find yourself eating when you get hungry enough!”.

image

And after dinner he came out on my grandma’s porch and sat beside me and shared his story.
My uncle was a ww2 POW or prisoner of war. He was captured and put in a bamboo hell. Nothing to shield them from the elements and rarely, rarely ever fed them. They got so hungry they would catch and eat whatever they could reach around them. They actually looked forward to the rats that came at night to bite them or see if their was anything to eat. These amazing men stayed alive for years by eating bugs, rats, snakes and any other thing. They were true hero’s, the people kids should look up to. Not these ridiculous celebrities or sports stars.
These men not only served our country, they survived hell. And I couldn’t be more proud, honored and humbled by their sacrifice and service.
To all of you that have served our country in the armed forces…  Thank you and May God bless you for all your days!

image

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “Service, sacrifice and Determination

  1. It is impossible for us to imagine the awful things that American prisoners of war endured. It makes my heart hurt to hear this story. God bless your uncle, and yes, all of the men and women who fight for our freedom and safety.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

